California Chrome and Bayern finalists for 2014 Horse of the Year

Arcadia, CA ( – California Chrome, Bayern and Main Sequence
have been named finalists for 2014 Horse of the Year.

The announcement came as the finalists for the 2014 Eclipse Awards were
revealed Wednesday morning at Santa Anita Park by the National Thoroughbred
Racing Association, National Turf Writers And Broadcasters and Daily Racing

Winners in the 17 Equine and Human categories will be announced at the 44th
annual Eclipse Awards on Saturday evening, Jan. 17 at Gulfstream Park
Racetrack and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Florida.

California Chrome, winner of the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, as well
as Breeders’ Cup Classic champ Bayern are also finalists for champion 3-year-
old colt and gelding. Joining them as a finalist is 2013 Eclipse Award winner
Shared Belief, who won the Pacific Classic and Awesome Again Stakes.

Main Sequence won the Breeders’ Cup Turf to go undefeated in four starts last
year. He is also a finalist in the Older Male and Male Turf categories.

Wise Dan, the 2012-13 Horse of the Year, has the opportunity to win his third
straight Eclipse Award as champion Older Male and Male Turf Horse.

The 2014 Eclipse Awards Finalists:

Horse of the Year: Bayern, California Chrome, Main Sequence

2-Year-Old Male: American Pharoah, Hootenanny, Texas Red

2-Year-Old Filly: Condo Commando, Lady Eli, Take Charge Brandi

3-Year-Old Male: Bayern, California Chrome, Shared Belief

3-Year-Old Filly: Stopchargingmaria, Sweet Reason, Untapable

Older Male: Main Sequence, Palace Malice, Wise Dan

Older Female: Close Hatches, Dayatthespa, Don’t Tell Sophia

Male Sprinter: Goldencents, Private Zone, Work All Week

Female Sprinter: Artemis Agrotera, Judy the Beauty, Sweet Reason

Male Turf Horse: Karakontie (JPN), Main Sequence, Wise Dan

Female Turf Horse: Crown Queen, Dayatthespa, Stephanie’s Kitten

Steeplechase Horse: Demonstrative, Divine Fortune, Makari (GB)

Owner: Kaleem Shah, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Breeder: Adena Springs, Ken and Sarah Ramsey, Winchell Thoroughbreds

Trainer: Bob Baffert, Chad Brown, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Joel Rosario, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Angel Cruz, Taylor Rice, Drayden Van Dyke